The BFG review

the bfg

Steven Spielberg is one of my favorite movie directors of all time. I’ve always enjoyed most of his early movies like Jaws, E.T, the Indiana Jones trilogy, and my personal favorite Jurassic Park. So I was really looking foward to The BFG.

Steven Spielberg really managed to make pretty faithful telling of the BFG. It follows the story very well and while it has changes its still focused on the friendship between the girl and the giant. Mark Rylance as the BFG is great. He captures the kindness and spirit of the book character. The scenery is very colorful. When I saw the trailers I thought it looked beautiful and it was one of the reasons why I wanted to see it. The sets are cool and the visuals like the dream tree are pretty.

The BFG however is a little childish at times. Some jokes are ok but others seemed weird. There’s a drink called a frobscottle which gives giants and people whizzpoppers (farts). Its nice for a one off gag but when the BFG brings out the drink at the Buckingham palace meal, I thought to myself, oh geeze I see where this is going. The characters drink and you know what happens. I also think the giant are way too silly and I can’t take them seriously.

The BFG is a sweet movie and while it isn’t one of Steven Spielberg’s strongest movies it’s still a cute movie to watch.

Verdict:
+Faithful to the book
+Mark Rylance
+Colorful scenery
– Humor is a bit childish
– Giants are too goofy

Score: B-

Say do you realize that the author of The BFG Roald Dahl wrote the James Bond ( movie You Only Live Twice?  Not only that but did you know that James Bond was created by Ian Flemming who also made the book Chity Chity Bang Bang which Roald Dahl wrote the movie screenplay? Suspicious connection.

Leave a Reply

