My Top 10 favorite Halloween Specials

halloween

“Happy, happy Halloween, Halloween, Halloween. Happy, happy Halloween, Silver Shamrock!”

Welcome foolish mortals to JacobsonCinema. I am your host, your post host, hmhmhmhm.  Happy Halloween to you all. To celebrate this holiday I will list out my top 10 favorite Halloween specials of all time.

There are some rules to this list. The specials have to take place on Halloween (meaning no Summerween). Made up holidays like Nightmare Night from My Little Pony and episodes that are meant for creepiness like The Puppetmaster from Avatar won’t count. Also this is my personal preference.

10.Ed Edd n Eddy Boo Haw HawJust so everyone knows Ed Edd n Eddy is my favorite cartoon of all time. The show might not be the most spectacular compared to other shows, but creator Danny Antonucci used Halloween as an advantage and he did not waste time on it. The visuals of Ed’s hallucinations are both impressive and creepy. Sure it does end with Edd and Eddy getting beaten up but the visuals make up for it. 

9.Billy and Mandy’s Jacked Up HalloweenThis special is a lot more about tricks rather then treats. Jack’s backstory is cool and his design, reminds me a lot of Jack Skellington. A fun special for a show that’s already creepy. 

8.Scared ShreklessThat creepy and hilarious “Welcome to Duloc” reprise alone pretty much earned a spot on my list. The stories they tell are funny and great parodies of other Horror movies such as The Exorcist. 

7.Toy Story of Terror!: The only one that’s doesn’t take place on Halloween but it’s never stated that it doesn’t take place in October unlike Summerween so I’ll make an exception. Toy Story of Terror! has great build up and the payoff is clever. I like how this special deals with Jessie’s fear of being in a box which was mentioned in Toy Story 2 and now plays a role here. 

6. Arnold’s Halloween – Hey ArnoldThis one deals with the consequences of throwing a huge prank like an alien invasion. This special is based on Orson Welles’ 1938 radio broadcast of The War of the Worlds which caused a panic due to people thinking that there really was aliens invading. Maurice LaMarche really likes to play Orson Welles. 

5.Winnie the Pooh Boo to You tooThis one deals with a character being afraid of both Halloween and spoiling it for his friends. Piglet is so scared of Halloween that Pooh decides to throw a “Hallo-wasn’t” meaning less scary Halloween party. Tigger’s song is both catachy and creepy, its like the pink elephant song or the heffalumps and woozles song. 

4.Treehouse of Horror V – The Simpsons:  One of the most famous traditions in The Simpsons is the Treehouse of Horror episode. I decided to only include one because putting Treehouse of Horror itself is kind of cheap since some segments are not good enough to be on the list. The one of chose is Treehouse of Horror V as my favorite because it balances the humor and creepiness. Time and Punishment is funny, Nightmare Cafetera is scary, and The Shinning is combines funny and scary. I used to afraid of The Shining (the dvd cover turned me off) yet The Shinning is my favorite Treehouse of Horror segment. Who could forget Willie getting axed in every segment?

3.Scaredy Pants – Spongebob SquarepantsThis one is really special to me because this was the very first Spongebob episode I ever watched or the first one I remember. The payoff with Spongebob’s brain is funny though creppy. Honestly this is on my list due to nostalgia.   

2.Over the Garden WallThe whole thing starts out on Halloween therefore it’s a Halloween special. The animation and atmosphere are wonderful. That song “Into the Unknown” really does remind me of Autumn. I’d say if your going to watch this miniseries, watch it in the fall because the atmosphere will remind you of fall. 

1.It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie BrownNot surprising is it? Everyone pretty much knows this special. It’s wonderful because of how simple it is. There’s no evil villain or monster, it’s just showing what kids do on Halloween like playing Trick or Treat or going to a Halloween party. There are so many memerable moments involving the red baron, the football, and who could forget “I got a rock”? What do I even need to say it’s just a perfect Halloween special. 

So there’s my list, comment on what you think and have a happy Halloween.

One comment

  1. smilingldsgirl · October 31

    Great list! I love Peanuts, Simpsons, Over the Garden Wall, Toy Story. They are all so great and perfect for Halloween

    Like

Leave a Reply

