Wonder Woman review

Sorry for delaying this review of Wonder Woman. I was gonna post this earlier but I’ve been very busy with my portfolio show for my college. Also an important note, I finally graduated college 🙂 This is a big deal for me because college was where and why I created a WordPress blog in the first place. I’d like to thank everyone who has followed me on my blog.

When I was watching this I realized something. This film feels like a combination of Thor and Captain America the First Avenger. The story is about the Amazons which are from Greek Mythology is just like how Thor was from Norseology while also taking place in World War 1 just like Captain America taking place in World War 2.

The actors do a really good job. Gal Gadot manages to still be great as Wonder Woman which is why she was one of the highlights of Batman vs Superman. Chris Pine as Steven Trevor is also great and his chemistry with Wonder Woman is really nice. His death while heroic was also bittersweet.  Even the soldiers are very enjoyable. The villains however are just meh. Erich Ludendorff is just the Red Skull only in a DC movie and with skin. Ares is also just a standard doomsday villain. The twist was interesting even though the actor confirmed he was Ares already.

Another problem I have with this movie is the lesson it tried to teach about war. Wonder Woman thinks that by killing Erich Ludendorff who she thinks is Ares will end the war. But when she does the soldiers are still going. Steve tells her that just killing a leader doesn’t stop the war. However it turns out that Ares is real and she kills him thus stopping the war. It’s like The Lion King where Simba learns that even though he killed Mufasa it’s in the past, but it turns out that he actually didn’t kill his father anyway. I liked the lesson the movie was trying to teach but the reveal just throws the lesson away.

Wonder Woman is probably the first good superhero movie where the main character is a female. It also managed to be more lighthearted then Man of Steel or Batman vs Superman. This is probably the best DCEU movie out which really does help give the DCEU hope for the future.

Verdict:
+The actors
+More Lighthearted
– Average villains
+/-Ending war lesson

Score: B-

Thank You so much for following and supporting my movie review blog.

Leave a Reply

