Ranking the Harry Potter Film Series

Harry Potter is my favorite films franchises of all time. A wizard school is such a creative concept and J.K. Rowling made a great story out of it. What I also like is that not one of these movies is filler and actually progress the story along. With Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them finally out what better time when to rank the series now then ever. I not ranking these in how they stay true to the book I’m just ranking them as just movies.

8. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1: Should have just called this Harry Potter and the camping trip. This felt the least like a Harry Potter movie considering Hogwarts didn’t appear. FYI: I see Harry and Hermione was friends not lovers. I actually read the book for a book report before seeing the movie so some things like Dudley’s goodbye and Peter Pettigrew’s death being omited seemed odd. The story of the three brothers was cool even though it felt like something not from the series. It’s not a bad movie, it just wasn’t as exciting compared to Part 2.

deathly-hallows-part-1

7. Harry Potter and the Goblet of FireIt’s odd that the second longest movie still feels cramped. The Triwizard Tournament challenges are awesome to watch. Voldemort’s design looks cool and Ralph Fiennes does a wonderful job as the dark lord. I feel that this is when the series gets darker and edgier with it’s tone and it’s handle very well here.

goblet-of-fire

6. Harry Potter and the Order of the PhoenixLongest book=second shortest movie (how logical). This was at one point my least favorite even though this has some really good stuff in it. I think this is the most political of the films. Dolorous Umbridge is one of those villains I love to hate. I remember being so surprised to see Lupin and Moody back because I thought they were just one off characters. The climax is one of my favorites because it brings in so many characters from the past together.

order-of-the-phoenix

5.Harry Potter and the Chamber of SecretsIt still follows the book faithfully and has the same magical feeling of the first one but I do think it has problems. The pace is kind of slow considering it’s the longest movie. I also feel like it rehashes a lot from the first one. The actual chamber of secrets looks amazing and the battle between Harry and the Basilisk is great too. I still do like the atmosphere that Christopher Columbus gives to the series.

chamber-of-secrets

4.Harry Potter and the Half-Blood PrinceAfter seeing Half Blood Prince I got excited for the rest of the series. I do notice that this one looks kind of brownish. Slughorn is a very likable character and the reveal of the horcruxes is good too. I did feel that the climax while sad didn’t have the awesomeness of the Battle of the Department of Mysteries.

half-blood-prince

3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of AzkabanThis was the first Harry Potter movie I saw in theaters. People are saying that this is the best movie in the series and while it’s one of my favorite it’s not my favorite. The scene in the Shrieking Shack is great and the twist with Scabbers was something I didn’t see coming. I think the main problem with this movie is the tone. While the environment is darker then the first two it feels the more humorous compared to the first two. It just feels a little awkward. The last shot of freeze frame Harry might be the weakest of the series.

prisoner-of-askaban

2. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2Even if it’s one half of a book, it was an incredible finale to the series and definitely better then part 1. It has some of the best things in the series. The action is some of the best and the music is some of the best too. I actually really do like the final scene, there was cute call backs like the chocolate frogs and seeing the characters we know and loved for 10 years was emotionally heartwarming. Ending with the same music from Sorcerer’s Stone was perfect.

deathly-hallows-part-2

1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s StoneSurprised aren’t you? It felt like the most magical and the most faithful to the books. What I love about this is that it’s just Harry and his first year at Hogwarts though there is a plot about the Sorcerer Stone. It has so many great scenes like the Quidditch match, Ron playing Wizard’s chess and Harry defeating Quirinus Quirrell. John William’s signature music is wonderful to listen to and the atmosphere feels so magical. My favorite Harry Potter movie and one of my favorite movies of all time.

sorcerer-stone

One comment

  1. jacobsonbblog · December 5

    Feel free to post your rankings here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

