Finding Dory Review

finding dory

Finding Dory at first seems to be a rehash of Finding Nemo. I was looking forward to it even if my expectation for lower, but after I saw it, I thought it was just as good as the first movie. Finding Dory is about Dory remembering her parents and trying to find them. Unfortunately her short-term memory loss makes her struggle. She gets separated from Marlin and Nemo and ends up in a aquarium. She meets with a octopus named Hank who helps her try to find her parents.

Now when I said that Finding Dory seems to be a rehash at first, that is sort of true but only for the first half. It’s honestly the only flaw I have with this movie and after the squid chase it turns into a new movie. The movie deals with disabilities. I like how it doesn’t teach you to get rid of them but to use them to your advantage.

The new characters are memorable. I liked how most of them have a disability just like Dory. Hank only has seven tentacles, Destiny has trouble seeing, and Bailey losing his echolocation. It makes them more relatable for Dory.

Let me tell you about my favorite thing in Finding Dory. I love the music! While I like the music from Finding Nemo I think this blows it away. Some of my favorite tracks are the main title, the migration song, and Shells. Thomas Newman’s score is just so chilling and beautiful to listen to and you can get sucked into it. It really helps make the emotional moments so much more impacting. I’m surprised that a sequel (other then Toy Story 2 and 3) to one of the most emotional Pixar movies was just as emotional as the first one.

I should also talk about the short Piper, Piper is incredibly cute and funny.

I’m not sure is this movie is better or worse then Finding Nemo but there very close. Finding Dory is a great sequel to a great Pixar movie and one of the best movies of 2016 so far.

Verdict:
+New characters
+The music
+Emotional
+Piper Short
-First half rehashes

Score: A+

Leave a Reply

