Happy Birthday to me!

happy birthday

Happy 21st Birthday to me! 🙂 To celebrate my birthday I have decided to do a very special and personal countdown list. Click on the post to see it.

I said before that  I’m not a video game guy, but I have played a certain group of games in my childhood. Those games being (drum-roll)

humoungous

I loved the Humongous Entertainment games. I love the characters, the hand drawn animation, the backgrounds, and of course puzzles. I also loved how the game are randomized which means when you put in one of the games, the game is different every time. That makes the replay value so much fun. How awesome is that even for someone 21 years old? I have decided to rank the Humongous Entertainment games I have played from worst to best.

I didn’t play Putt Putt joins the Parade, Fatty Bear, Putt Putt goes to the Moon, or Pep’s Birthday Surprise.

16.Putt-Putt Joins the Circus: The first three on this list are at the bottom due to just having only one path. This one feels the most childish but the nothing offensive or irritating. It’s not bad, it’s just mediocre at best.

15.Putt-Putt Saves the Zoo: I think the music is really nice and the zoo it nice to look around. However this is a short game and too easy. It doesn’t help that there’s only one path there the replay value is low. Still it’s a nice little game.

14.Pajama Sam: Life Is Tough When You Lose Your Stuff!: Yes, it’s not a great game but I do like the art. Pajama Sam’s new actor is inferior, the music is bland, and the puzzles are not challenging. It’s mostly a letdown compared to the other three Pajama Sam games.

13.Freddi Fish and the Case of the Missing Kelp Seeds:  It’s a nice start to Freddi Fish and the hand drawn Humoungous games. The music is very relaxing. You can’t use the escape key to skip cutscenes. It’s a good game just not compared to later games.

12.Freddi Fish 2: The Case of the Haunted Schoolhouse: A very easy game. The soundtrack is nice thought the songs are meh. I like watching the trap being set off and the ending is heartwarming too. I do like it better then Freddi Fish 2 though the next three Freddi Fish games are better.

11.Freddi Fish 4: The Case of the Hogfish Rustlers of Briny Gulch: I do like the western atmosphere even though it is boring at times. I like how the game continued with the different culprit endings from the third game though there only four compared to six.

10.Putt-Putt Enters the Race: I notice that this game is sort of a copy of Putt Putt joins the Parade, but I think this is the better game. The racing at the end was a nice addiction to the series. While the game is fun, i trying find bottles to get coins or go though the garden to find vegetables slow down the game.

9.Spy Fox 2: “Some Assembly Required”: It doesn’t have the epic scale compared to Dry Cereal or Operation Ozone. The two paths do have very different puzzles. Le Roach is a fun villain and his evil plan is ridiculously fun too. Exploring the world’s fair is nice. Sending Le Roach down the drain is always satisfying.

8.Spy Fox in “Dry Cereal”: This is probably the biggest of the Humoungous games. This one definitely has great atmosphere to it. Now that I’ve seen some of the James Bond movies I can see the similarities. The comedy is funny and the puzzles are probably the most challenging. The replay value is also great because there is two ways to find the fortress, three objects that will stop the milky weapon of destruction, and two ways on getting the control panel. The one reason this is 8 is because of the go fish  game and the snapping turtles puzzle which are both frustrating.

7. Putt Putt Travels Through Time: My favorite Putt Putt game. I think this one might have the most paths in any of the games. Each item Putt Putt must find are each in four different time periods. That makes this game much more diverse. The wonderful music fits well with there time periods. The artwork also helps the environments too.

6. Freddi Fish 3: The Case of the Stolen Conch Shell: I love the tropical environment which reminds me a lot of Hawaii (a place I have vacations to). The puzzles are balanced and the characters are memorable. My favorite thing in this game is the ending. I thought the idea of having the thief change each time helps give more variety to the ending.

5.Freddi Fish 5: The Case of the Creature of Coral Cove: Even thought there’s only two paths in this game I still liked how the paths are very different. I like how instead of finding objects like in most of the game this one was more of finding one thing taking up the whole game. I think the animation, characters, and music have improved a lot in this one.

4.Spy Fox 3: “Operation Ozone”: This was an epic conclusion to the Spy Fox series. This one is a hard but fun game. I liked how you can explore the world searching for items. The villain Poodles Galore is entertaining and her plan is diabolical. I never get tired of Pushpin eating the pizza. It’s more funny if you give that ingredient last.

3.Pajama Sam 2: Thunder and Lightning Aren’t So Frightening: The Pajama Sam series is probably my favorite series of the four considering that the next three are from the same series.  The setting of a workplace and a factory is a nice switch from the Land of Darkness. Though I like the environment from the next two better. The comedy is funny and the puzzles are well done. This is definitely a fun sequel to Pajama Sam.

2.Pajama Sam 3: You Are What You Eat From Your Head To Your Feet: This almost made my number one spot if it wasn’t for the almonds platform puzzle. Still this is a great computer game. I love the environment, I love the atmosphere, I love the colorful scenery, especially the purple/yellow sunset sky. Pajama Sam 3 also has my favorite music score of the entire Humoungous collection.

1.Pajama Sam: No Need To Hide When It’s Dark Outside: Pajama Sam 1 is my favorite Humoungous Entertainment game of all time. Ironic because this was the first one I played. I love the Land of Darkness. It just so imaginative and creative with it’s environment. I bet I’m not the only one who has ever wanted to travel to the Land of Darkness. The music is both chilling and relaxing. The characters are memorable and help Pajama Sam on his adventure. The puzzles are well balanced being both easy and hard. What can I say? It’s just a perfect kids game that anyone with children should let them play this.

Leave a Reply

