Batman vs Superman review

batman vs superman

Batman and Superman have are finally confronting each other on the big screen. I’m more of a Marvel person then a DC one. Batman though is the best superhero ever. Man of Steel was OK to me but I wasn’t looking forward to this movie as much as other and I was not disappointed that it got mixed reviews.

I liked how this movie treated both Superman and Batman with focus. I mentioned in my top 10 My Little Pony episodes that Fall Weather Friends treated both Applejack and Rainbow Dash with equal focus, and this one is no different. You do see their views and reasons why they are fighting each other. The best character was Ben Affleck as Batman. I defiantly liked him better then Christian Bale.  The opening scene was one of my favorite scenes in the movie. If shows Batman’s origin through visuals instead of talking and the music was epic to listen to. Though the part where the bats helped pull Bruce Wayne out of the hole was kind of silly.

Me and my brother were very mixed about Jesse Eisenburg as Lex Luthor. He’s pretty much what I thought he would be. He awkward, his plans are not developed much. Why does every movie version of Lex Luthor have to have hair or wigs?! He does possibly the weirdest thing I have seen in a comic book movie. Spoilers though anyone who isn’t bothering to see it go ahead:  There is a line that June Finch tells Lex  “You can’t urinate in a jar and call it Granny’s Peach Tea”. Then in the congressional hearing scene Finch is drinking from a cup that says Granny’s Peach Tea. I actually didn’t realize that it was urine until I saw someone’s review of the movie. Do I really need to continue? Doomsday is just a bland doomsday monster made just so that Superman Batman and Wonder Woman can fight someone in the climax. It’s good that Doomsday’s role in killing Superman in the comics does not go to waste but still it does not excuse how bad he looks on screen.

While I do like it better then other people, lets face it, Captain America Civil War is going to be the much better comic book movie this year.

Verdict:
+Ben Affleck as Batman
+Treats Superman and Batman as the main focus equally
+Sets up future movies
+The opening scene
-Jesse Eisenburg as Lex Luthor is a weird choice
-Urine scene (really?)
-Doomsday
-Not very fun

Score: C

Leave a Reply

